Reiki is made up of five principles.  These are ideals that you should try to meet every day.  There are not unlike the 12 commandments, except that there isn’t the forcefulness of the word “command”, the principles are simplified – anyone can remember a list of five things – and the principles are prefixed with “Just for today”, which reduces the pressure of trying to achieve them for a lifetime.

The principles are:

  • Just for today, I will not be angry
  • Just for today, I will not worry
  • Just for today, I will be grateful
  • Just for today, I will do my work honestly
  • Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing

That’s it.  Pretty simple.

The idea of “Just for today” is a pretty powerful one for me.  It doesn’t mean that you can ignore it, or that you don’t have to try, it just means that if you don’t make it happen today, tomorrow will be another opportunity.  It works on the basis of “people are generally good and want to do good” instead of “people are bad and have no incentive to be good.”